Skip to main content

Learn about quality in early childhood education and care

Last updated: February 8, 2024

Jump ahead to a section

The National Quality Framework (NQF) provides a national approach to regulation, assessment and quality improvement for early childhood education and care and outside school hours care services across Australia.

The National Quality Framework includes:

National law and regulations

The National law sets a national standard for children’s education and care across Australia. The National Regulations support the National Law by providing detail on a range of operational requirements for an education and care service.

Visit the Australian Children's Education and Care Authority website to learn more about the national law and regulations for children's education and care services.

National Quality Standard (NQS)

The National Quality Standard (NQS) sets a high national benchmark for early childhood education and care and outside school hours care services in Australia. The NQS includes 7 quality areas that are important outcomes for children. Learn more about the National Quality Standard.

Assessment and rating process

All approved early childhood education and care services across Australia are assessed by their state or territory regulatory authority and receive a quality rating.

They are assessed against the 7 quality areas of the National Quality Standard to promote continuous improvement and help families make informed decisions about their child's education and care.

Learn more about the assessment and rating process.

National approved learning frameworks

National approved learning frameworks

There are two national approved learning frameworks in operation under the NQF. Both learning frameworks outline principles, practices and learning outcomes that guide educational leaders and educators in their curriculum decision-making, and assist them in planning, delivering and evaluating quality programs in early childhood and school age settings.

These are:

Belonging, Being and Becoming: The Early Years Learning Framework for Australia (EYLF) V2.0 2022
National approved learning framework under the NQF for young children from birth to 5 years of age.

My Time, Our Place: Framework for School Age Care in Australia V2.0 2022
National approved learning framework under the NQF for school age children.

Similar articles

The assessment and rating process
Last updated: March 26, 24
Brought to you by ACECQA - Australian Children’s Education & Care Quality AuthorityStarting Blocks logo
Connect with us
ACECQA acknowledges the Traditional Owners and Custodians of country throughout Australia and acknowledge their continuing connection to land, water and community. We pay our respects to the people, the cultures and the Elders past and present.